State Cross Championships come to conclusion

    The State Cross Country Championships are in the books.  On Friday in Kearney, Millard South was the Class 'A' Team Champion with 50 points.  They won by eight points.  North Platte's Wyatt McGuire won the race by just over 19 seconds.  Norfolk's Andrew Meuret placed 51st and Austin Warren was 76th.  Scottsbluff won the Class 'B' Boys Team Title with 29 points.  They won by 24 points.  Matthew Barraza of Scottsbluff was the champion by just over three seconds.  Milford claimed the Class 'C' Boys Team Championship with 45 points.  They won by 23 points.  Columbus Scotus placed fifth with 81.  Levi Avila of Mitchell won the race via tie breaker criteria over Minden's Trevor Jacobsen.  Columbus Lakeview's Kaleb Lusche placed fifth and O'Neill's Grant Johnston was eleventh.  Norfolk Catholic's Cameron Carney took 27th and Matthew Wieser was 54th.  The Crofton boys won the Class 'D' Team Championship with 69 points.  They won by two points.  Stanton was fourth with 95.  Hans Epp of Nebraska Christian was the champion by just over 15 seconds.  Crofton's Alex Janssen placed sixth, Osmond's Cameron Moes got seventh, Aaron Haahr of Laurel/Concord/Coleridge took ninth, and Wisner/Pilger's Riley Ruskamp placed 15th.
    In the Class 'A' girls race, Lincoln Southwest was the Team Champion with a score of 60.  They won by 22 points.  Norfolk finished eleventh with a score of 245.  Lincoln North Star's Jeralyn Poe was the champion by just under 13 seconds.  Norfolk High's Abby Protzman was 27th, Breanna Harthoorn placed 42nd, Erika Kumm took 77th, Madison Clausen finished 84th, Alison Finn was 90th, and Aurora Gates placed 94th.  Lincoln Pius X won the Class 'B' Girls Team race with a score of 25.  They won by 50 points.  York's Erin Lee won the race by just over five seconds.  Columbus Scotus won the Class 'C' Girls Team race with a score of 45.  Norfolk Catholic placed second with a score of 60, Wayne was third with 63, and Boone Central/Newman Grove got fourth with 68 points.  Mitchell's Celeste Cardona was the champion by just over ten seconds.  Wayne's Marta Pulfer was second, Columbus Scotus' Jessica Schaecher placed fifth, Boone Central/Newman Grove's Sheldon Beierman took seventh, Wayne's Cassie Heier placed eighth, Norfolk Catholic's Joelle Heng got ninth, and Boone Central/Newman Grove's Catherine Weeder finished 14th.  Also for Norfolk Catholic, Nicole Aschoff was 25th, Jennifer Blank took 28th, Alex Anderson got 29th, Ashlyn Hauser placed 55th, and Jana Unger was 69th.  The Crofton girls won the Class 'D' Team race with a score of 32.  They won by 29 points.  Oakland/Craig was fifth with 135.  Ord's Katherine Lansman was the champion by just over nine seconds.  Stanton's Braska Patterson was fourth, Crofton's Quinn Wragge, Kendy Kube, & Vanessa McFarland placed eighth, tenth, and eleventh respectively.  West Holt's Jayden Reiman finished 14th.  58 boys and 72 girls from the northeast Nebraska area were involved.

On Air

John Tesh
6pm - 11pm

Star Athlete of the Week

Dylan Kautz

of Norfolk Catholic High School

Sponsored by Spracklen Physical Therapy of Norfolk