Sports News-June 27, 2012

CBS Sports Programming now at 105.9 WJAG-FM & 780 WJAG-AM Mon-Fri at 5:00 PM; Sat & Sun at 4:00!

     WASHINGTON (AP) - A playoff system will soon determine the national champions in college football. A committee of university presidents has approved the BCS commissioners' plan for a four-team playoff to start in the 2014 season. The teams will be selected by a committee, similar to the way the NCAA basketball tournament field is set.
     WIMBLEDON, England (AP) - Today's Wimbledon schedule is highlighted by second-round singles matches involving top sees Novak Djokovic and Maria Sharapova. Roger Federer opens the Centre Court action, and Andy Roddick will try to complete his opening-round match against Jamie Baker. Second seeds Rafael Nadal and Victoria Azarenka were among yesterday's first-round winners.
     INDIANAPOLIS (AP) - The Indiana Pacers could soon have a completely revamped management team in place. General manager David Morway resigned yesterday amid reports that president of basketball operations Larry Bird will step down as well. The Pacers have scheduled a news conference for this morning.
     UNDATED (AP) - The Minnesota Timberwolves have agreed to trade the 18th overall pick in the NBA draft to Houston for Chase Budinger, who averaged 9.6 points and 3.7 rebounds a game with the Rockets last season. And Detroit has shipped guard Ben Gordon and a future first-round pick to Charlotte for swingman Corey Maggette.
     CHARLOTTE, N.C. (AP) - NASCAR points leader Matt Kenseth is leaving Roush Fenway Racing at the end of the season. There was widespread speculation last weekend at Sonoma that Kenseth was leaving to join Joe Gibbs Racing, but Kenseth decline to discuss his future with the organization he has been with for all but one of his 452 career starts. Ricky Stenhouse Jr. will be promoted to his seat in the Sprint Cup Series by Roush.

Eight former Nebraska Cornhuskers will be inducted into the Nebraska Football Hall of Fame.  Former Nebraska defensive end Steve Manstedt (1971-73), place-kicker Dale Klein (1984-86), defensive end Bill Weber (1981-84), I-back Ahman Green (1995-97), center John Heskew (1995-98) and cornerback DeJuan Groce (1999-2002). Also entering the hall will be former Husker coach Frank Solich, who will also receive the chapter's National Football Foundation Hall of Fame coaching award.  Induction and award ceremonies will be held Sept. 21 at Memorial Stadium, and inductees will be honored on the field before Nebraska's Sept. 22 game against Idaho State.

Ryan Lochte scored another win over Michael Phelps at the U.S. Olympic Swimming Trials in Omaha, but it was only the semifinals of the 200-meter freestyle.  Their next big showdown is today.  Lochte turned on an amazing burst of speed on the final lap night going stroke for stroke with Phelps before touching the wall in 1:46.25 seconds.  Phelps finished in 1:47.27, setting up quite a race in the final.  Conor Dwyer, who actually led the semifinal heat through 150 meters, faded to third in 1:47.38.  Lochte beat Phelps in the 400 individual medley on the opening night of the meet, extending his domination over the 14-time Olympic gold medalist.

Creighton's sure-handed third baseman Chance Ross has become the most recent member of the 2012 Bluejay squad to ink a professional baseball contract.  Ross signed a free agent deal with the Los Angeles Angels and will start his career in Phoenix, Arizona, playing for the AZL Angels in the Arizona Rookie League.  Ross joins Bluejay teammates Anthony Bemboom and Kurt Spomer as Bluejays to sign with the Los Angeles Angels.  Ty Blach signed with the San Francisco Giants after being picked in the fifth round of the Major League Baseball Draft.  Ross finished second on the squad in 2012 with a .301 batting average.  He was named to the 2012 Missouri Valley Conference All-Defensive team.

The top four seeds advanced yesterday in the opening round of the 45th Nebraska Match Play Championship at Platteview Country Club.  Defending Champion Kevin Stanek topped Tommy Hamilton of Omaha 2 and 1 in the day's opening match. Wesley Bernt of Kearney, the 2011 runner-up, defeated Preston Walford of Tekamah 2 and 1.  Norfolk’s Lance Lawson won his opening round match over Lincoln’s David Ringler 4 and 3.  Columbus’ Brady Vancura, the 59 seed, upset six seed Mitchell Klooz of Plainview 1 up.  Action resumes today.  

Local Schedule:  Nfk Seniors at Columbus (Bsbl-5:30); Golden Girls 18’s Vs. Fremont-6:00; Vs. Seward Starz-7:30 (Lincoln SB League); Kellys 18’s Vs. Columbus Lakeview at Hadar (SB DH-6:30); New Orleans at Omaha Storm Chasers (Bsbl-7:05).

Local Scores:  Nfk Golden Girls 18’s 7-13 Kellys 18’s 4-1 (SB DH); Omaha Storm Chasers 5 Oklahoma City 1 (Bsbl).

      Final    N-Y  Yankees          6    Cleveland            4
      Final    L.A.  Angels          7    Baltimore            3
      Final    Boston                    5    Toronto                1
      Final    Texas                      7    Detroit                5
      Final    Chi  White  Sox      3    Minnesota            2
      Final    Kansas  City          8    Tampa  Bay            2
      Final    Seattle                  3    Oakland                2
      Final    Philadelphia        5    Pittsburgh          4
      Final    Atlanta                  8    Arizona                1
      Final    Cincinnati            4    Milwaukee            3
      Final    St.  Louis              5    Miami                    2
      Final    Chi  Cubs                5    N-Y  Mets              3
      Final    Houston                  5    San  Diego            3
      Final    Washington          12    Colorado              5
      Final    San  Francisco      2    L.A.  Dodgers      0

On Air

Jeffrey Steffen
6am - 10am

Star Athlete of the Week

Dylan Kautz

of Norfolk Catholic High School

Sponsored by Spracklen Physical Therapy of Norfolk