Happy Birthday Wishes to:

Bob Borgman, Jan Hoile, Jeff Moritz, Patrick Ronspies

Skywatch Weather:

Today, mainly sunny, high 80.  Tonight, mostly clear, low 59.  Thursday, mostly sunny, high 86.



CBS Sports Programming now at 105.9 WJAG-FM & 780 WJAG-AM Mon-Fri at 5:00 PM & Sat & Sun at 4:00!

Nebraska quarterback greats Tommie Frazier and Eric Crouch are not among the 14 inductees announced for the College Football Hall of Fame, and neither says he is hurt by the snub.  It was the second straight year Frazier was left out.  Crouch was the 2001 Heisman Trophy winner and eligible for the first time this year.  The inductees were announced yesterday. Many Cornhuskers fans expected either Frazier or Crouch, or both, to be named.  Former Nebraska defensive end Trev Alberts also was eligible.  Frazier said he can't be upset about something over which he has no control.  He says all he can do is wait to see if his name is called next year.  Crouch said he isn't disappointed for himself but is surprised Frazier didn't get in.


Wayne State College has qualified in seven events for the NCAA Division II Outdoor National Track & Field Championships to be held May 24-26 in Pueblo, Colorado.  The Wildcat women have four individuals competing in six events while the WSC men have one qualifier in one event.  Among the competitors will be former Norfolk Catholic standout Nicole Brungardt.  She will compete in the 100 meter dash.  The senior ran a career best time of 11.81 seconds to win the 100 meter dash at the NSIC Championships last weekend in Bismarck, North Dakota and ranks 14th in the event.  Brungardt will run in the 100 meter prelims on May 24th at 7:10 p.m.


The Norfolk High boys soccer team has finished with a seven ranking in the Lincoln Journal Star.  The newspaper posted its final rankings today.  The Panthers were 12-7 this season reaching the State Tournament.  They were beaten by eventual two-time Defending State Champion Omaha Creighton Prep in the opening round last Thursday 3-2.


Local Scores:  Wichita St. 13 Nebraska 2 (Bsbl); Iowa 5 Creighton 4 (Bsbl); Fresno 6 Omaha Storm Chasers 4 (Bsbl).


NBA Playoffs:  Indiana 78 Miami 75 (1-1); San Antonio 108 L.A. Clippers 92 (1-0).


Spracklen Physical Therapy Star Athlete of the Week:

Megan Gebhardt of the Lutheran High Northeast track & field team.


In May 1928, General Electric opens the first TV station.  (Schenectady, NY)


News Briefs:

Nebraska state Sen. Deb Fischer has won the Republican nomination for U.S. Senate, setting the stage for a high-stakes November election against former Sen. Bob Kerrey, who easily won the Democratic nomination. The winner will replace Democrat Ben Nelson, who isn't seeking a third term. A GOP win would push Republicans closer to a Senate majority.


A political newcomer has defeated the incumbent for a seat on the Madison County Board of Commissioners. Christian Ohl was the leading voter getter in the GOP race for District #2 Commissioner with 559 votes. Incumbent Marty Griffith came in second with 278 votes. Former Commissioner Rod Hughes was third with 226 votes. Ohl advances to the November general election and will run unopposed.


Challengers were the leading vote getters for three seats on the Norfolk Board of Education. Six of the seven candidates running in Tuesday's Primary Election advance to November. Sandy Wolfe led the pack with 2,360 votes. She was followed by Bob Waite with 2,212 and Arnie Robinson had 2,030. Three incumbents were next: Clark Froehlich finished with 1,983 votes, Alfredo Ramirez had 1,675 and Joel Carlson ended up 1,406. The seventh candidate, challenger Troy Brooks, finished with 1,283.


An incumbent Norfolk City Councilman advances to the November general election. Ward Four Councilman Thad Murren garnered 353 votes on  Tuesday. He will be joined on the November ballot by Libby McKay, who received 155 votes. Michele Sanchez was third with 67.


A Columbus veterinarian and a Norfolk attorney advance to the November election for a spot on the University of Nebraska Board of Regents. Jim Pillen was the leading vote getter in Tuesday's election with 18,034 votes. Dave Copple finished second with 10,845. The third candidate, Tony Raimondo, Jr. of Columbus had 5,948.


State Senator Dave Bloomfield of Hoskins will take on Van Phillips of South Sioux City for the District #17 legislative seat in November. Bloomfield was the leading vote getter in Tuesday's primary with 1,835 ballots to Phillip's 1,004. Ron Hartnett was third with 494 votes and Darrick Barclay finished with 143.


The mayor of Newman Grove survived a recall  on Tuesday. Fawn Steiff will continue to serve the southwest Madison County community after receiving 160 votes in support and 90 against in Tuesday's election.


Today's Tickler:

Great American Comedy Festival 6/13-6/17


You know you’re getting older when your doctor tells you to slow down instead of the police.


On Air

After Dark
12am - 6am
11pm - 12am

Radio Review Sponsors

  • Charles Robert Adams, M.D.
  • Big Top Party Shop
  • Building Blocks Foster Care Agency
  • Community Rehab Physical Therapy
  • Faith Regional Physician Services, LLC
  • First National Bank
  • Great American Comedy Festival
  • Integrated Life Choices
  • Jorgensen's Rod Shop & Upholstery, Inc.
  • Mosaic
  • Nebraska SMP/NEN Area Agency on Aging
  • Overhead Door
  • Ringer Partners Management
  • Spence Chiropractic
  • Sunny Meadow Medical Clinic
  • Telebeep Wireless
  • Urgent Care
  • WJAG 780 AM/KEXL Lite Rock 97.5/106 KIX Country