Dakota County to End Sales Tax

LINCOLN, Neb. (AP) - The only Nebraska county that imposes a sales tax will stop doing so next year.  Dakota County, which includes the communities of Homer, Hubbard and South Sioux City, is planning to end its half-cent sales tax in 2014, now that a voter-approved referendum has helped pay for a new jail and law enforcement center.  Joan Spencer, an assistant to the board of commissioners, says the county started collecting revenue for the project in 2005. The sales tax generated $7.8 million in revenue to pay off 10-year bonds.  The Nebraska Department of Revenue says Dakota County is the only county statewide to levy a sales tax. The practice is more common among Nebraska cities.  The department says the city of Seward will officially raise its sales tax to 1.5 percent next year.