Area Post Offices Being Studied For Closure

NORFOLK (AP) - 15 of the 90 post offices in the state being studied for possible closure are located in northeast Nebraska. U.S. Postal Service officials announced today the 90 are among the nearly 3,700 being considered nationwide. A spokesman says many of the offices could be replaced by so-called village post offices. Those are locations offering limited postal services in local stores, libraries or government offices. Area post offices on the list are located in Belden, Brunswick, Concord, Creston, Dixon, Inman, Magnet, Oakdale, Page, Royal, St. Helena, Snyder, Waterbury and Thurston.